Visit the roastery and Coffeeseum Book a guided group tour: +39 0471 725 651.
SCA Coffee Skills Diploma – für besseren Kaffee

What is the SCA?

The SCA is the world’s largest coffee trade association. This non-profit organisation has a network of members across the globe, from farmers to traders and from coffee machine manufacturers to roasters and baristas, allowing for an exchange of ideas towards a common goal: improving the quality of coffee. Within the scope of SCA activities is the support of projects aimed at promoting fair and sustainable coffee cultivation and trade.

The SCA in figures:

  • Members from over 40 countries
  • 1,600 certified SCA trainers worldwide
  • Over 60,000 training certificates issued every year
  • Hundreds of SCA Coffee Skills Diplomas awarded every year

About the SCA Coffee Skills Diploma

The SCA’s main mission is to ensure the continuous improvement of coffee quality. SCA training courses and the development of specific knowledge, ranging from cultivation to preparation, play a crucial role in the pursuit of that goal. With the recently redesigned Coffee Skills Program, the SCA has created a training programme that has no equal in the world.

Getting the Coffee Skills Diploma

To be awarded the Coffee Skills Diploma, you need to achieve a total of 100 points, which are gained by attending training. Based on the level, each training course earns a certain number of points.

Certified coffee knowledge at Caroma

You can book your training course at Caroma safe in the knowledge that you will be in good hands. Master roaster Valentin Hofer – Italy’s first coffee sommelier – has been a certified SCA Trainer since 2010 and has been awarded the Coffee Skills Diploma.

Caroma Sca Coffee Skills Diploma Punktesystem

Overview of course levels

Introduction to coffee: participants are introduced to the world of coffee and learn everything from the origin, history, harvesting, processing and components of coffee to the correct approach to roasted coffee. This course provides basic knowledge.

FOUNDATION LEVEL: This course offers the first insights into the chosen module and is the perfect stepping stone to the more advanced levels. No previous knowledge is required.

INTERMEDIATE LEVEL: The right course for those who are already working in the field or already possess the basics. A basic knowledge of the topics is prerequisite, and these are taught in more depth during the course.

PROFESSIONAL LEVEL: This advanced course imparts in-depth, specialist knowledge in a specific area of the module, training participants to become real experts in the field. Passing the SCA Intermediate Level is prerequisite for participation.